FEATURED ACT
ARNDALES

Wednesday 16th May 2018 at Aces & Eights »

'In The Red' label artistes Arndales hail from the Three Counties (Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire) area of England, a hinterland bolted on to North London. Members of the band have also performed with bands such as Country Teasers, Art Brut, Collapsed Lung, Thrilled Skinny and others. They describe their music as "Three Counties Ug-Rock".

On their new album they have taken inspiration from the rich world of retail jargon. The main source of lyrical inspiration was a shared Google Doc where friends could deposit the latest nuggets of retail gobbledygook they'd heard at work. Opening track "Prestige Pricing" is named after the practice of deliberately inflating the price of a product to indicate it's prestigious status. "Dark Store" takes its name from the customer-free supermarkets used to fulfill online shopping orders.

Album closer "Theme from A Big 10-8 Place" is a cover of the Negativland song, transferring the narrative from the Bay Area to mid Bedfordshire, England.

COMING UP
Strip Back Comedy

Monday 21st January
Rob Copland
Strip Back Comedy
7:45 PM - Free entry
Nick Horseman


Thursday 24th January
Nick Horseman
8:00 PM - £2.00
INTOX EXTRAVAGANZA


Saturday 26th January
INTOX EXTRAVAGANZA
INTOX EXTRAVAGANZA + INTOX EXTRAVAGANZA
7:00 PM - £5 adv £7 on the door
Independent Venue Week
Tuesday 29th January
Independent Venue Week 2019
Independent Venue Week
7:00 PM - £TBC
The Local


Wednesday 30th January
Independent Venue Week 2019
The Local + Nick Ellis + Noemie: + Independent Venue Week
7:00 PM - £8
The Local


Thursday 31st January
The Local
The Local + Arborist + INDEPENDENT VENUE WEEK
7:00 PM - £8 adv.
Geneva aka The Scottish Band
Saturday 2nd February
Independent Venue Week 2019
Geneva aka The Scottish Band + Independent Venue Week 2019
7:00 PM - £TBC
Independent Venue Week 2019
Sunday 3rd February
Independent Venue Week
Independent Venue Week 2019
7:00 PM - £TBC
Communion Presents

Monday 4th February
Communion Presents
Communion Presents + Eloise
12:00 PM - £SOLD OUT
Communion Presents

Wednesday 6th February
Communion Presents
Communion Presents + Eloise
12:00 PM - £Sold Out
Deadbeat - Febuary


Thursday 7th February
Zoe Waterman
Deadbeat - Febuary
7:30 PM - £5.00
Simon Craine


Sunday 10th February
Simon Craine
7:00 PM - £2.00
Secret Variety Club

Wednesday 13th February
Secret Variety Club
7:30 PM - £5.00
Deadbeat Comedy

Thursday 7th March
Zoe Waterman
Deadbeat Comedy
7:30 PM - £5.00
Deadbeat Comedy

Thursday 4th April
Zoe Waterman
Deadbeat Comedy
7:30 PM - £5.00
Sarah Vista Social Club
Friday 5th April
Sarah Vista
Sarah Vista Social Club + Sarah Vista
7:30 PM - £TBC
Deadbeat Comedy

Thursday 2nd May
Zoe Waterman
Deadbeat Comedy
7:30 PM - £5.00
Deadbeat Comedy

Thursday 6th June
Zoe Waterman
Deadbeat Comedy
7:30 PM - £5.00
Sarah Vista Social Club
Friday 26th July
Sarah Vista
Sarah Vista Social Club + Sarah Vista
7:00 PM - £TBC
Sarah Vista Social Club
Friday 25th October
Sarah Vista
Sarah Vista Social Club + Sarah Vista
7:00 PM - £TBC
Sarah Vista Social Club
Friday 20th December
Sarah Vista
Sarah Vista Social Club + Sarah Vista
7:00 PM - £TBC