FEATURED ACT
HOT SAUCE PONY
Friday 18th January 2019 at Aces & Eights »
Debut album widens the palate of aural exotica even further, all aided and abetted by the unmistakable sonic hallmarks of Steve Albini (Pixies, Nirvana, PJ Harvey), who recorded and engineered the whole thing at his now world-famous Electrical Audio studios in Chicago. Released by Brixton Hillbilly back in January.

Reference points are healthily myriad with reviewers pointing to the Lemmy-like clunk of Stephen Gilchrist's bass, the parallels between Anna Dodridge's metronomic rhythms and the finest moments of Can and Neu! The feedback-soaked guitar of Ross Davies, routed through a maze of effects pedals, would be equally at home on a classic Sub Pop or 4AD release, or the more rebellious end of the math rock spectrum. Caroline Gilchrist's vocals, meanwhile, are invariably delivered straight from the heart but always with an air of siren-like mystery and shapeshifting intensity that keeps you on a knife edge throughout.

Having cut their teeth on the same South London gig circuit that honed the skills of Shame, Goat Girl, Warmduscher and Black Midi, they've become a must see live act and the album captures and bottles that white hot excitement perfectly. ‘Crusher’, ‘Crumble’and ‘Doom Lord’ mercilessly toy with the listener’s emotions, switching from intimate vulnerability to riff heavy rampage without warning. From the lilting, almost folky melancholy of ‘Christmas in Prison’, to the jabbing sassiness of ‘Ho’ or the seas of sprawling distortion on ‘My Pet Hate In 6/8’ and ‘Louder’, this album has it all.

"Mudhoney with a whiff of Young Marble Giants"

COMING UP
Jenny Bede and Olga Koch Edinburgh Previews


Friday 28th June
Jenny Bede and Olga Koch Edinburgh Previews
7:30 PM
Free entry
DJ Plimsoles

Friday 28th June
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM
Free entry
The Troy Club

Sunday 30th June
The Troy Club
7:30 PM
£8.00
Chris Kent and Josh Pugh Edinburgh Previews


Monday 1st July
Chris Kent and Josh Pugh Edinburgh Previews
7:30 PM
Free entry
Nick Helm

Tuesday 2nd July
Nick Helm + Paul F Taylor
5:00 PM
£7.30
Nick Helm

Wednesday 3rd July
Nick Helm + Paul F Taylor
7:30 PM
£5.00
Jenny Bede & Suzi Ruffell: Previews
Thursday 4th July
Jenny Bede & Suzi Ruffell: Previews
7:30 PM
£5.00
The Bombadils


Sunday 7th July
The Bombadils + FolkOnMonday Present
7:30 PM
£10 Adv
Angelos Epithemiou and Christopher Bliss (WIP)

Thursday 11th July
Angelos Epithemiou and Christopher Bliss (WIP)
7:00 PM
£5.00
Feed Your Head DJs

Saturday 13th July
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM
Free entry
Cam Spence and Kat Sadler: Two Previews!


Sunday 14th July
Cam Spence and Kat Sadler: Two Previews!
5:00 PM
Free entry
Artrocker Presents
Wednesday 17th July
Artrocker Presents
7:30 PM
£TBA
RavenEye

Friday 19th July
RavenEye
7:00 PM
£12 Advance
DJ Plimsoles

Friday 19th July
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM
Free entry
Mr Fruit Salad and Friends, July

Sunday 21st July
Mr Fruit Salad and Friends, July
8:00 PM
£5.00
Izzy Mant: Polite Club (preview)

Tuesday 23rd July
Izzy Mant: Polite Club (preview)
7:45 PM
£5.92
Sarah Vista Social Club


Friday 26th July
Sarah Vista Social Club + Sarah Vista
7:00 PM
£8 adv/£10 on thew door
DJ Plimsoles

Friday 26th July
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM
Free entry
Feed Your Head DJs

Saturday 27th July
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM
Free entry

Ali Brice & Michael Brunström: Edinburgh Previews


Saturday 27th July
Ali Brice & Michael Brunström: Edinburgh Previews
7:30 PM
Free entry
Feed Your Head DJs

Saturday 27th July
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM
Free entry
Iona Fyfe


Tuesday 6th August
Iona Fyfe
7:00 PM
£12 Advance
FolkOnMonday Present

Friday 6th September
FolkOnMonday Present
7:00 PM
£8.00
DJ Plimsoles

Friday 6th September
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM
Free entry
FolkOnMonday Present

Wednesday 11th September
FolkOnMonday Present
7:00 PM
£12 Advance
Cheeseburger & Friends
Saturday 14th September
Cheeseburger & Friends + CHEESEBURGER
7:00 PM
£3.00 + Concessions
Feed Your Head DJs

Saturday 14th September
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM
Free entry
Artrocker Presents
Wednesday 9th October
Artrocker Presents
7:30 PM
£TBC
Sarah Vista Social Club
Friday 25th October
Sarah Vista Social Club + Sarah Vista
7:00 PM
£TBC
DJ Plimsoles

Friday 25th October
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM
Free entry
CHEESEBURGER
Saturday 9th November
CHEESEBURGER + Cheeseburger & Friends
8:00 PM
£3.00 + Concessions
Feed Your Head DJs

Saturday 9th November
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM
Free entry
FolkOnMonday Present

Sunday 17th November
FolkOnMonday Present
7:30 PM
£11 adv
FolkOnMonday Present
Saturday 30th November
FolkOnMonday Present
7:30 PM
£TBC
Feed Your Head DJs

Saturday 30th November
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM
Free entry
Cheeseburger & Friends
Saturday 14th December
Cheeseburger & Friends + CHEESEBURGER
8:00 PM
£3.00 + Concessions
Feed Your Head DJs

Saturday 14th December
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM
Free entry
Sarah Vista Social Club
Friday 20th December
Sarah Vista Social Club + Sarah Vista
7:00 PM
£TBC
DJ Plimsoles

Friday 20th December
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM
Free entry