FEATURED SHOW
Wednesday 16th May 2018
Artrocker presents:
@ Aces and Eights

Artrocker Club
THE COMMON COLD
ARNDALES


Doors: 07:00:00
£5

Wednesday 16th May

THE COMMON COLD

+THE ARNDALES

+FEAR OF THE HORSE

+ DJ DAVID CALLAHAN

(Wolfhounds / Moonshake)

THE COMMON COLD »
John Peel favourites priest town psychedelic dealers

Besides the bus station and football club, Preston hasn’t had much to offer to the world for a long time....until now. Step forward THE COMMON COLD, the best band you are likely to see and hear all year. Formed by two friends Ajay Saggar and Mark Wareing, the duo had served time in legendary Peel favourites “Dandelion Adventure” many moons ago. Two years ago they took to the stage for the first time together nearly after 30 years to play a set of psych jams. Leading on from another similar encounter the year after, the whole experiment moved forwards another giant step when Ajay wrote all the music, and Mark wrote the words to a set of songs that are now to see the light of day in April 2018.

Their new album is titled “Shut Up! Yo Liberals!” and will be released on legendary Preston label Action Records (who released albums by The Fall, The Boo Radleys, and Dandelion Adventure)

It’s a stunning debut that sees the band drink from the same magick musical fountain as The Fall, Kaleidoscope, Neu!, Quicksilver Messenger Service and yet retain their own style. Featuring a double drummer attack (the recording features former members of Cornershop and Pram), the songs propel forwards with a crisp crunch, but giving enough space to the heavy melodies that spin in your head all day long. The lyrics are intelligent, funny and acerbic and take the listener on a fantastic journey. “Shut Up! Yo Liberals” is a direct and uncompromising document of The Common Cold’s deep, personal connections to the North West’s musical heritage mixed with Mark’s years of immersion in underworld literature from William Burroughs through to Hubert Selby,Jr.


ARNDALES »
'In The Red' label artistes Arndales hail from the Three Counties (Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire) area of England, a hinterland bolted on to North London. Members of the band have also performed with bands such as Country Teasers, Art Brut, Collapsed Lung, Thrilled Skinny and others. They describe their music as "Three Counties Ug-Rock".

On their new album they have taken inspiration from the rich world of retail jargon. The main source of lyrical inspiration was a shared Google Doc where friends could deposit the latest nuggets of retail gobbledygook they'd heard at work. Opening track "Prestige Pricing" is named after the practice of deliberately inflating the price of a product to indicate it's prestigious status. "Dark Store" takes its name from the customer-free supermarkets used to fulfill online shopping orders.

Album closer "Theme from A Big 10-8 Place" is a cover of the Negativland song, transferring the narrative from the Bay Area to mid Bedfordshire, England.

COMING UP
Shelf Life


Tuesday 18th September
Huw V Williams + Simon Roth
Shelf Life
7:00 PM - £8 adv/£10 on thew door
Artrocker Presents


Wednesday 19th September
Artrocker
Artrocker Presents + GHUM + LEISURE TANK + MINIMALS
7:30 PM - £5
Byronic Sex & Exile

Thursday 20th September
Goth City Records
Byronic Sex & Exile + Rio Goldhammer
7:30 PM - £5.00
Nirvana Tribute

Friday 21st September
Nirvana Tribute
8:00 PM - £10.00
DJ Plimsoles
Friday 21st September
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM - £3.00
Jon Long

Sunday 23rd September
Troubadour
Jon Long
7:30 PM - Free entry
Strip Back Comedy



Monday 24th September
Strip Light Productions
Strip Back Comedy
7:45 PM - Free entry
Matt Smith’s MASSIVE COMEDY GALA


Wednesday 26th September
Matt Smith
Matt Smith’s MASSIVE COMEDY GALA
8:00 PM - £5.00
DJ Plimsoles
Friday 28th September
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM - £3.00
Vrï


Wednesday 3rd October
Folk on Monday/
Vrï
7:30 PM - £10.00 adv.
Deadbeat Comedy

Thursday 4th October
Zoe Waterman
Deadbeat Comedy
7:30 PM - £5.00
DJ Plimsoles
Friday 5th October
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM - £3.00
Feed Your Head DJs
Saturday 6th October
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM - £3.00
Pamela DeMenthe presents: Sticky Digits


Tuesday 9th October
Jenny May Morgan
Pamela DeMenthe presents: Sticky Digits
7:45 PM - £5.00
Runnin' Blue Promotions:


Friday 12th October
Runnin' Blue Promotions
Runnin' Blue Promotions: + Jason Eady:
7:30 PM - £13.00 adv
DJ Plimsoles
Friday 12th October
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM - £3.00
Hot Vox Promotions


Saturday 13th October
Hot Vox Promotions
8:00 PM - £7.00 advance
Feed Your Head DJs
Saturday 13th October
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM - £3.00
Artrocker Club


Wednesday 17th October
Artrocker
Artrocker Club
7:30 PM - £5 adv
DJ Plimsoles
Friday 19th October
DJ Plimsoles
8:00 PM - £3.00
Feed Your Head DJs
Saturday 20th October
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM - £3.00
Shelf Life
Tuesday 23rd October
Huw Williams & Tim Roth
Shelf Life
7:00 PM - £TBA
DJ Plimsoles
Friday 26th October
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM - £3.00
DJ Plimsoles
Friday 2nd November
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM - £3.00
Cheeseburger & Friends
Saturday 17th November
Cheeseburger
Cheeseburger & Friends + CHEESEBURGER
7:00 PM - £3.00
Shelf Life
Tuesday 20th November
Huw Williams & Simon Roth
Shelf Life
8:00 PM - £TBC
Artrocker Club Night
Wednesday 21st November
Artrocker
Artrocker Club Night
7:30 PM - £TBC
Maella

Thursday 22nd November
Hot Vox Promotions
Maella
8:00 PM - £6.00 advance
Sarah Vista Social Club
Friday 23rd November
Sarah Vista
Sarah Vista Social Club + Sarah Vista
7:30 PM - £TBC
Heather Findlay Trio
Thursday 29th November
Boss Caine Sundown Sessions
Heather Findlay Trio + Boss Caine
7:00 PM - £TBC
Cheeseburger & Friends
Saturday 15th December
Cheeseburger
Cheeseburger & Friends + CHEESEBURGER
7:00 PM - £3.00
Bonanza & Son DJs (ResonanceFM)
Saturday 5th January
Bonanza & Son DJs (ResonanceFM)
12:00 PM - £3..00
Independent Venue Week 2019
Monday 28th January
Independent Venue Week 2019
7:00 PM - £TBC
Independent Venue Week
Tuesday 29th January
Independent Venue Week 2019
Independent Venue Week
7:00 PM - £TBC
INDEPENDENT VENUE WEEK
Wednesday 30th January
Independent Venue Week 2019
INDEPENDENT VENUE WEEK
7:00 PM - £TBC
Independent Venue Week
Thursday 31st January
Independent Venue Week 2019
Independent Venue Week
7:00 PM - £TBA
Independent Venue Week 2019
Friday 1st February
Independent Venue Week 2019
Independent Venue Week 2019
7:00 PM - £TBC
Independent Venue Week
Saturday 2nd February
Independent Venue Week 2019
Independent Venue Week
7:00 PM - £TBC