FEATURED SHOW
Matthew Highton and Rich Soames Do Amazing Shows
Sunday 3rd June 2018 @ Aces And Eights Bar
Matthew and Rich
Doors 6:00 PM - Free entry Matthew Highton and Rich Soames Do Amazing Shows Matt and Rich are funny boys who want you to come and laugh, whilst they work on their new shows and you have a drink and a lovely time.

About the shows:

Matthew Highton - Insufficient Memory

After his gran got dementia (funny start) Matthew Highton sought to make sense of the news to figure out what makes us US and if it even matters in the end? Using his own life to chart how his rougher edges in formative years growing up in Oldham led to a life performing, he explores the notion whether we would be an entirely different person if we grew up even half a mile away? Highton’s storytelling draws you in with honesty and flair, delivered with a strong unique voice. Joy, silliness, anarchy, revelation, shame, reflection and probably some bits that make you go ‘awwww’, the lovable raconteur will leave you appreciating the here and now, even in it’s darkest corners.

‘Highton has the storyteller’s gif’ ★★★★ Chortle

‘Highton is captivating. His story is one you’ll want to listen to until the end.’★★★★ Adelaide Now

‘Fascinating in parts, moving in others, and there's plenty to laugh at too.’ Critic’s Choice Time Out London

'Warm, intelligent and beautifully written' List

‘Wonderful’ The Guardian

‘Disorientating, bizarre and rather brilliant.’ ★★★★ Broadway Baby

Richard Soames - Let’s Make a Movie

One man. One hour. One second-hand camcorder. Let’s Make a Movie.

Co-writer/performer of The Edinburgh Fringe Best Newcomer Award Nominated show The Story Beast and star of Chortle Award Nominated Fringe favourites The Beta Males, Richard has 60 minutes to make a movie and he needs your help. Having misspent his childhood with his brother making uniquely exhilarating home movies, like their painstaking shot-for-shot remake of The Matrix, to their just painstaking Snakes in a Car, his younger brother’s now all grown-wife-proper-job-and-mortgaged-up and Richard’s on his own. But instead of six to eight weeks on a Studio lot, making an actual Blockbuster, he’s booked an hour in a purple shipping container just off Bristo Square. Armed with a state of the art handycam from 2003, some questionable filmmaking techniques and actual archive footage from his old home videos, Richard will do anything and everything it takes (mostly everything) to make a fully-formed movie in one hour.

That’s right, we will actually do this.

Together, we're making a movie!

★★★★ “Excellent” SUNDAY TIMES

★★★★ “Oozing likability” THE SKINNY

★★★★ “A funny, honest and heartfelt performance” MUMBLE

Independent Feature: Top 50 Jokes of The Fringe

Radio Times Feature: The Best New Comedians Heading To The Fringe


COMING UP
DJ Plimsoles
Friday 19th October
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM - £3.00
Achtung Achtung


Friday 19th October
Achtung Achtung
8:00 PM - Free entry
Feed Your Head DJs
Saturday 20th October
Feed Your Head DJs
10:00 PM - £3.00
Astrolology: Now I'm a Be-Libra!


Sunday 21st October
The Freewheeling Mystic Underground Astrolology Pa
Astrolology: Now I'm a Be-Libra!
7:00 PM - £5.00
Strip Back Comedy

Monday 22nd October
Strip Light Productions
Strip Back Comedy
7:45 PM - Free entry
Shelf Life 2


Tuesday 23rd October
Huw Williams & Simon Roth
Shelf Life 2 + Garance Louis + Will Glaser Group
8:00 PM - £5 Adv
Mawaan & Friends (Comedy Night)


Thursday 25th October
Mawaan & Friends (Comedy Night)
7:30 PM - £3.00
DJ Plimsoles
Friday 26th October
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM - £3.00
The Troy Club
Sunday 28th October
Andrew O'Neill
The Troy Club
7:30 PM - £8.00
Strip Back Comedy

Monday 29th October
Strip Light Productions
Strip Back Comedy
7:45 PM - Free entry
Trick or Treat Comedy Night Volume 1.


Wednesday 31st October
Trick or Treat Comedy Night Volume 1.
7:00 PM - £5.00
Deadbeat Comedy

Thursday 1st November
Zoe Waterman
Deadbeat Comedy
7:30 PM - £5.00
DJ Plimsoles
Friday 2nd November
DJ Plimsoles
10:00 PM - £3.00
Strip Back Comedy

Monday 5th November
Strip Light Productions
Strip Back Comedy
7:45 PM - Free entry
Emperor Norton's Whiskey Symposium

Thursday 8th November
Emperor Norton's Whiskey Symposium
9:00 PM - Free entry
Strip Back Comedy

Monday 12th November
Strip Light Productions
Strip Back Comedy
7:45 PM - Free entry
FolkOnMonday Present
Thursday 15th November
FolkOnMonday Present
FolkOnMonday Present + Lona Fyfe
7:30 PM - £TBC
Cheeseburger & Friends
Saturday 17th November
Cheeseburger
Cheeseburger & Friends + CHEESEBURGER
7:00 PM - £3.00
Strip Back Comedy

Monday 19th November
Strip Light Productions
Strip Back Comedy
7:45 PM - Free entry
Shelf Life 2
Tuesday 20th November
Huw Williams & Simon Roth
Shelf Life 2
8:00 PM - £TBC
Maella

Thursday 22nd November
Hot Vox Promotions
Maella
8:00 PM - £6.00 advance
Mark & The Clouds

Thursday 22nd November
Mark & The Clouds
9:00 PM - Free entry
Sarah Vista Social Club
Friday 23rd November
Sarah Vista
Sarah Vista Social Club + Sarah Vista
7:30 PM - £TBC
Strip Back Comedy

Monday 26th November
Strip Light Productions
Strip Back Comedy
7:45 PM - Free entry
Mawaan & Friends (Comedy Night)


Wednesday 28th November
Mawaan & Friends (Comedy Night)
7:30 PM - £3.00
Heather Findlay Trio

Thursday 29th November
Boss Caine Sundown Sessions
Heather Findlay Trio + Boss Caine
7:00 PM - £15 + booking fee
Artrocker Presents
Wednesday 5th December
Artrocker
Artrocker Presents
7:30 PM - £TBC
Deadbeat Comedy

Thursday 6th December
Zoe Waterman
Deadbeat Comedy
7:30 PM - £5.00
Cheeseburger & Friends
Saturday 15th December
Cheeseburger
Cheeseburger & Friends + CHEESEBURGER
7:00 PM - £3.00
Bonanza & Son DJs (ResonanceFM)
Saturday 5th January
Bonanza & Son DJs (ResonanceFM)
12:00 PM - £3..00
Independent Venue Week 2019
Monday 28th January
Independent Venue Week 2019
7:00 PM - £TBC
Independent Venue Week
Tuesday 29th January
Independent Venue Week 2019
Independent Venue Week
7:00 PM - £TBC
INDEPENDENT VENUE WEEK
Wednesday 30th January
Independent Venue Week 2019
INDEPENDENT VENUE WEEK
7:00 PM - £TBC
Independent Venue Week
Thursday 31st January
Independent Venue Week 2019
Independent Venue Week
7:00 PM - £TBA
Independent Venue Week 2019
Friday 1st February
Independent Venue Week 2019
Independent Venue Week 2019
7:00 PM - £TBC
Independent Venue Week
Saturday 2nd February
Independent Venue Week 2019
Independent Venue Week
7:00 PM - £TBC